Travel to Europe for third country nationals

The rules of travel to Europe have changed. Starting from the end of 2023, some 1.4 billion people from over 60 visa-exempt countries are required to have a travel authorisation to enter most European countries.

On October 18th, the Commission announced a change of the rules of travel to Europe as of 2023. The Entry/Exit System and ETIAS travel authorisation for visa-exempt third-country nationals which will be required, are described on a new dedicated website:

The EES system is set up to register non-EU nationals for a short-stay in Europe, both short-stay visa holders and visa exempt travellers, each time they cross an EU external border. The system will register the person’s name, type of the travel document, biometric data (fingerprints and captured facial images) and the date and place of entry and exit, in full respect of fundamental rights and data protection. The system is expected to be operational as from May 2023.

The ETIAS authorization is linked to a traveler’s passport and is valid for up to three years or until the passport expires, whichever comes first. If a travel document is renewed the ETIAS needs to also be updated. With a valid ETIAS travel authorisation, one can enter the territory of these European countries as often as wanted for short-term stays – normally for up to 90 days in any 180-day period.

Source: Pearle*

Our partners

Zdruzen Logo Slo2
Ministrstvo Za Kulturo1 380x58
Logo Mol 1

2023 © All Rights Reserved.   Terms of use   Cookies & Privacy Website by: Kreativna tovarna